Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'll start by saying I am not a master mechanic.

I went to fire up the 6018 yesterday. She cranked over as normal (very strong and battery is still reading 12.7v), but wouldn't fire up. Tried a few times, but no joy. Then I sprayed some starter fluid down her throat and she still wouldn't fire up. This leads me to believe it is spark related.

What could be causing this and what should I check on her to troubleshoot?

·
Administrator
1973 Case 444, 1974 Case 644, 1976 Case 446, 1977 Case 646
2,139 Posts
If you pull a spark plug and crank it over, with the plug hooked up to the plug wire while grounding the plug to a clean metal surface on the engine, you should see a spark jump across the electrode. If no spark I would next check the points and condenser. This is my old school way of analyzing your situation that I and many others have came across. Good luck Hydro!
Keep the Peace
Harry

·
Registered
48 Posts
Please see section 8-1 of the Onan service manual.
So I wrote out long explanation and went to post says awaiting moderator approval, shortened to above. No clue why I bothered since I clearly can't post without prior approval!!!!!

Good luck
Jim

·
1,767 Posts
What engine is in that 6018? It could be Points or could be an Onan with electronic ignition. As harry says check for spark. Not in the bright sunlight you won't see it even if its there. Check for 12 volts on one of the 2 terminals of the coil, did mice chew through your wiring? Happened to me on another tractor.

If points, try running a DRY piece of paper board, construction paper through the closed points. See if there is any oil you can wipe off them. The job of the points is to GROUND the one side of the coil, while there is 12 Volts on the other side:

Great reading and educational on Brian Millers site: Ignition Solutions for Older Small Engines and Garden Pulling Tractors

·
Registered