Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright- I just seen a real nifty Ingersol Chipper shreader listed on Craigslist. This just triggered a new project idea. Lastfall I bought a like new Troy built Super Tomahawk Chipper that someone had removed the 10 hp engine from. The price was dirt cheap, and being that I already owned a smaller model with a 6hp on it, I figured I would find a 10hp and upgrade to the largest model. Now that I have one of these great tractors with rear hyd pto- I would love to convert this chipper to run off from the tractor. I have had NO experience with hyd motor sizing. Does anyone have the knowledge to point me towards the size hyd motor I would need to use? I believe the standard size pulley on the original engine is 4" in diameter. I would think that finding an hyd motor to mate up into the original engines mounting position and use the pulley would be the easiest way to go.Although the neatest may be to eliminate the belt part of the equation and couple directly to the main input shaft on chipper. Having the belt doesn't bother me, and I am all for easy but if anyone has a suggestion please through it at me!

· Registered
574 Posts
I'm interested in the same sort of project. I got a Mackissic hammermill chipper from a guy just before he pulled into the local scrap yard. It's basically the same one that Ingersoll used as the basis for their model. Frankly, the easiest option for me would be to pick up a 10 hp or so engine and a clutch. But, my initial idea is try and use a hydraulic motor to drive it.

· Banned
12,618 Posts
You want to get rid of the belt if you can. Direct drive is the way to go. Motors that are capable of heavy side loading cost more money than motors that are direct coupled to the input shaft of the chipper.