Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently ran across this information that I thought might be helpfull. I thought this would be the most appropriate place to put it. Moderators please relocte if it isn't as I am still learning my way around.

This involves electronic ignition conversion from points. It's called "Points Saver" This gentleman appears to be involved in performance parts for Kohler and has developed this ignition box that will also work on Onan as long as the primary coil resistance is correct. It doesn't eliminate the points, but allows them to last nearly forever as it removes virtually all the current passing throught them. I'll post the email I sent him and his reply. I have no personal knowledge of this individual, but he seems legit. Hope this may benefit someone:
:mowlawn: :mowlawn: :mowlawn: :mowlawn: :mowlawn:

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your interest in our products. The PointSaver will work perfectly on Onan twin-cylinder engines. Just be sure the primary resistance of the ignition coil is above 3.0 ohms. This is determined by measuring across the (+) and (-) terminals with an ohm meter. You are correct on the tachometer - only works on single cylinder Kohler engines.

To order, you may send payment (money order, cashier's check, or personal check) for $32.00 ($28.00 for each module plus $4.00 First Class postage) to the address given below. Please make it payable to Kirk Engines, Inc. and enclose a copy of this e-mail along with your mailing address. The PointSaver is unconditionally guaranteed for one year from date of purchase. Should it fail or you are dissatisfied in any way, return it for exchange or full refund, your choice. Complete installation instructions and wiring diagram are included.

Thank you for your inquiry and I look forward to having you as a valued customer.

Dave Kirk

Kirk Engines, Inc.
N5389 Buena Vista Drive
Fond du Lac, WI 54937-7372

http://www.kirkengines.com