Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally had a chance to use the snow caster. Worked great on my drive (paved), but ran into a couple of problems on the neighbors(gravel).
In the float position I was kicking up a lot of stones. Even bounced one off of her house. Dented the siding but missed the window. There was only about an inch or two of light powder. Is that a factor? This is my first time with a snow blower of any kind so I don't have any experience to compare to.
The other issue is with the clutch. I rebuilt it and thought I had it. But after doing mine and half of hers (about 30 min.) the clutch wouldn't disengage. I pull the lever back and it stops, but then it slowly reengages. When I pull back on the lever and hold it turns faster. I can find a spot where it will stop, but any movement of the lever, either forward or back, will engage the clutch. When I shut it down and restart the motor it stays disengaged until I engage it again. It has new springs and pad.
Thanks..

·
Banned
12,618 Posts
On the outboard edges of your snowcaster are adjustable ski's that will raise the cutting edge when you drop them down in the slots. Gravel driveways always present a challenge for snow clearing whether you use a blower or a blade. These area should be graded as level as possible just before winter sets in and then the first snowfalls should be ignored. Just drive over the snow and pack it down into the gravel to create a smoother surface with no stone protruding. From that point on, snow clearing is a breeze but tire chains are essential along with lots of axle weight. The two driveway surfaces are like night and day. You cannot expect a snowcaster that is set up for cleaning a paved driveway to clear a gravelled drive without it picking up stones.

As for the clutch................

- you did not assemble it correctly

OR

- you did not adjust it correctly

OR