Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice Ingersoll 448 owner who is looking for a utility blade to plow snow and grade my driveway with. There is a Case H54 blade for sale about an hours drive from where I live, the seller says that it fits all Case and Ingersoll 400 series tractors. I see the H54 has the lift link that goes over the front axle and the later models K,J, and L have the lift link that goes under the front axle. Can the H54 be used on my 1988 448 or would I need to make modifications?

·
Registered
2,546 Posts
It will work just fine. I have both types and the only advantage I see to the newer ones is you can get a little more down pressure but that is not something I find particularly useful, particularly for plowing snow.

·
Banned
12,618 Posts
The H blades were made before 1972 when Kohler K's were the only engine used by Case. Then along came the Onan opposed twin with the large, flat-oval mufflers that hung down each side of the engine. That's when the J model blade was introduced with the control arm that went under the front axle.

Obviously, if there were no clearance issues with the engines and the lift arm that went over the top of the axle, then there would be no need for Case to come up with a different blade design.