Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After the successful morning pulling posts, we were feeling pretty frisky, and decided to go do a little work on the driveway. I was going to back drag a few mud holes and scrape a few high spots. Everything was proceeding very nicely (Note: The 646 has plenty o'power I'm just learning how to use). I was getting better at feathering the bucket and actually was making some progress when everything stopped. Not the engine, but the everything on the tractor. The bucket had slowly begun to descend. The three point hitch had gone limp. I looked around the right side and saw a fairly significant stream of oil coming from the the area where the metal line connects to the oil cooler on the bottom. I immediately shut the engine off. The oil continued to drain. Seeing how it was in a mud hole I let it keep draining, I least I had it contained. Now here is the scary part. I had to pull the tractor about 40 feet to the side of the garage, because it died dead center of the driveway about three feet off the street. I think I located neutral(?) before pulling. I walked / steered the tractor while my wife eased around in the truck. I didn't hear any loud bangs or grinding metal. I'm hoping. I think this pregnant guppy of a hose is the culprit.

Hood Automotive lighting Automotive tire Motor vehicle Amber Helmet Automotive lighting Automotive tire Motor vehicle Alloy wheel

I read the post about changing hydraulic oil. How to loosen / remove the drain plug in the direction control valve and let drain. Considering most of the oil is gone can I finish draining and replace with the Rotella T 15W-40 synthetic. Do I need to rinse the tank or anything. Also, any recommendations on what to replace this chunk of hose with.