Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2021 F-250 Super Duty 6.7 L Diesel
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend of mine has a K241 kohkler that when he crankjs it, it blowes gas out of the muffler. IMHO it is 180 degrees of time, he says all the timing marks line up. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Mine spits tiny drops of gas out of the carb while cranking when choked that are visible when the air cleaner is off. I think it is because the decompression is open while cranking? Also my motor is quite worn out . Gas out the exhaust seems like an extremely flooded situation. I am looking the manual over and scratching my head.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I worked as an auto mechanic for many years and out of time seems to be my thoughts, hiow it got out of time is unknown. Could the staerter turning backwards cause it?

·
Registered
112 Posts
Its beyond the scope of my experience. I do have 2 K's and manage to keep them running. The one on the 220 is my first rebuild. Reverse polarity to the starter would make it turn backwards but the bendix would not engage. Someone with more experience might be able to trouble shoot the timing by observing the valves and position of the fuel pump lobe and or points.

·
Registered
459 Posts
Was the engine apart for a rebuild. ? Does the engine run ? Flooded is the first thought. But does it’s hydro lock if it has that much fuel in it ? Set points to 0.020 for a starting point for spark timing. Just guessing.

Noel

·
Registered
311 Posts
I worked as an auto mechanic for many years and out of time seems to be my thoughts, hiow it got out of time is unknown. Could the staerter turning backwards cause it?
The only way to get it that far out of time would be to tear the engine down and install the cam incorrectly. Timing on these K series are set with points gap.

·
Registered
112 Posts