Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well as I posted recently I was looking to buy a WW40 wheel weight. Received a few suggestions from this awesome forum and decided to make one. What was left of the WW40 weight was the lower plastic piece. When I was a young machinist I often worked in the pattern room helping to make patterns for castings, so I had to improvise because I didn't have a lathe to turn it round and the conical angle round. What I ended up making was a pattern taking measurements from the other wheel weight on the right side.

I basically drew it up and ended up making (20) 18 degree blocks, faceted which would be round once strapped together. I used 1/2" PVC for bolt guides and used dowels in the bottom board to keep it aligned, 10 1/2" bolt circle. Anyways here's some pictures, BTW I filled it Quickreet 5000 1 inch from the top and filled the rest using mortar.

all.JPG

·
Registered
34 Posts
Pretty nice, what did they end up weighing? I was thinking of doing this until some weights kind of fell in my lap.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
1,763 Posts
Concrete works, but my feedback is that its only 1/3 the weight of cast iron for the same size - shape.

You need a block of cement 3 times the size of the same block of cast iron for the same weight.

·
Premium Member
3,780 Posts
Concrete works, but my feedback is that its only 1/3 the weight of cast iron for the same size - shape.

You need a block of cement 3 times the size of the same block of cast iron for the same weight.
Agreed. Almost any metal is more dense than concrete. I showed that in a chart in a previous post.

For some crazy reason, beet juice is cost prohibitive here but for a lot of guys, its very cost effective. Even cheaper than doing it yourself with RV antifreeze and has superior freeze protection and density.