Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to everybody, Bob here. I'm new to Case tractors, just got a 1981 446. My tractor has stickers from Oakland Farm Supply, Oakland, IL, but I bought it in Kentucky. It's in pretty good shape overall but has some deferred maintenance items. I'm pretty sure no major component has ever been serviced, because the level of crud buildup is incredible!

I've Gunked and pressure washed a couple of times now just trying to get the major accretions removed. Previous owner had disassembled the PTO and tried to reassemble it with an extra hex nut thrown in for good measure. I have that back together and it seems to be working now.

Next move is to un-cobble the wiring (one of my biggest pet peeves!). PO had replaced a broken ignition switch with an added toggle and a key switch that fit the hole but was nowhere close to the original switch functions. I've bought a correct replacement and am now digging into the wiring to get it back to original schematic.

I got a mower deck with the tractor and have a blade coming via truck freight in a couple of days. We have little snow in Nashville, but my driveway is a half mile long - shoveling after two snows last year made me really covet a scraper blade!

First question for the experts on here: I'm trying to get the hydraulic tank out so I can access the wiring beneath it. Do I need to unbolt the engine and slide it forward to access this very tight area? I have the tower rear access cover off, but access is pretty much impossible right now.

Thanks in advance for all the good information I know I'll get on this forum. Looking forward to using this tractor for many years to come!
Bob in Nashville

·
Banned
12,618 Posts
BobMcKeown said: