Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings to all. I have been working on my buddies late 60 model Case 190. I'm glad I found this site...my problem is this...I'm losing power at rear wheels. When I first got it running it would work fine until the hydraulics came up to operating temp and then lose power in forward..reverse "seemed" to be ok. I took the control valve apart and it was in relatively good shape. After cleaning it up and reassembling it I tried it out again. It worked fine for a couple of hours and now I'm losing power both forward and reverse..one thing I did notice was that the hydraulic brake on the drive motor was missing..I'm a mechanic by trade but I'm hoping maybe one of ya'll can tell me what the problem may be..thanks

·
Banned
12,618 Posts
When new members arrive, we do everything possible to direct them to the FAQ's section first. There's a reason why we do this. The problem you describe is indicative of having the WRONG oil in the hydraulic system. There are several documents in the FAQ's that explain what oil you should be using and HOW to change out the oil properly. Oil in these tractors is similar to the driveshaft in a car. Oil is what delivers the power between the front of the tractor and the back of the tractor.

Start by reading those documents and dealing with the oil issue. As a mechanic, you will know that diagnosis is a step by step process and the oil is the first step. Until we know to a certainty that you have the correct oil in the system and that you have followed ALL the steps in changing it out, then anything we advise might be wrong. Come back to this thread once you have taken care of those things and tell us if there is any change in how the tractor performs. Then, we can advise you what to do next. OK? :thumbsup:

Here are links to the two important documents you need to read so that you better understand the tractor you are working on.