Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year with my Ingersoll 226 with a snowcaster set up so I have nothing to compare this to...but anyways I used it for the first time as we finally got some snow here in Buffalo. It worked but didnt seem to really throw the snow very far maybe 10' at max. It was some pretty wet stuff and I had the tractor running at about 3/4 throttle but i still think it should throw it a little farther. I used my Toro walk behind and it was throwing double what my tractor was....any ideas or thoughts?

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
burrhoes said:
I had the tractor running at about 3/4 throttle
Right off the bat, you need the engine at 3600 RPM to get the auger going at 900 RPM. The faster that spins, the further it throws. Keeping the bucket full helps also, so go at the fastest ground speed the depth/weight of the snow will safely let you. Make sure your auger is set for minimum clearance to the bucket, but how you do this depends on the model of your snowcaster. Try different chute angle settings. Make sure your clutch and belt are not slipping.
The snowcaster does not toss as far as a good 2 stage, but easily makes up for it in volume. I double blow snow in some places on my property but it makes little difference except when it's really deep, wet, and heavy.

·
Banned
12,618 Posts
If you want your caster to toss snow really well, then you need to rebuild it totally.

- every part should be dismantled, media blasted, primed and repainted with several coats of hardened paint. Snow does not slide easily on rust. Smooth, slippery paint is important.

- the paddles should be ground smooth on both sides and the edge should be flat

- make paddle extenders out of old conveyor belting that is 1/4" thick. Drill the paddle sides to accept bolts to hold the paddles on while the auger is out of the housing.