Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just tried to use the snowcaster on the 448 that I bought a few months ago with troubling results. It rotated apparently OK when engaged and under no load but soon stopped when it became jammed with snow. When it did run it only threw the snow just clear of the side casing. With the temperature hovering around freezing, the snow is very heavy but, is this normal?
I'm still learning my way around this machine so it might be something that I have done or not done however, I don't think so. Looking at the engagement mechanism I guess there is a clutch that is engaged when the lever is pushed forward which I can see moving into engagement, but it appears to be slipping. Is this adjustable, and if so, how?
On the plus side, the Onan runs very nicely indeed which seems to confirm the sellers statement that it had recently been rebuilt.

·
Registered
571 Posts
Two quick things come to mind: There is a tension spring on the idler pulley that should be checked. And, are you using the correct belt? Could be the clutch, but I'm not familiar with the mechanical ones.

·
Banned
1,373 Posts
yeah it sounds like that clutch just needs adjusting, but since you'll be paying a lot of attention to it, this would be the perfect time to assess it for bearing replacement and have a good look at the hub/shaft for wear.
all you need to know about the clutch can be found on this site, someone will link that for you very soon I'm sure. Good luck with it and be prepared to be blown away when your caster is working properly!!!!

·
Registered
2,546 Posts
Take the simplest things first:

1. Is the belt to the snow blower slipping? If so, the tension spring is probably missing or not connected correctly.