Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am going to do my first engine pull and tear down. I have a Kohler 14hp that I want to bring in for possible valve, block, cam and crank work. I would like to know what specialty tools I will need to do this. Like gear pullers - size, spring compression pliers, or ring pliers. If they bore it out and do cam work will they know what size to make them for standard replacement parts? Will they give me the sizes I will need for the replacement piston and rod. What gaskets will they need to rebuil these parts? I know this sounds dumb but I am a beginner at this.

·
Banned
12,618 Posts
Here is the very first thing that you need. And the good part is that it is free. Either park it on your hard drive or download it to your printer.

http://www.kohlerengines.com/onlinecata ... p_2379.pdf

Unless you intend to make a career out of engine rebuilding, then there is no need for you to purchase all kinds of specialty tools that may see one-time usage. Take apart the engine with common, ordinary, every day tools that any mechanic would own and leave the specialty stuff to the machine shop you select to perform the work on the block.

If you own a digital camera, you should use that to document in pictures, how the engine looks as you tear it down. Another trick is to make a step by step document of which item you removed from the engine first, second, third and so forth. Doing that is like leaving a trail of bread crumbs on a journey so that you can find your way back home again.

And if you so desired, you could use this thread to show the photos and describe how a 1st time engine rebuilder went about doing this and what he learned as a result.

·
Registered
877 Posts