Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello. New here. I bought a 1973 case 220 (advertised as a 222). A few questions. Does the I emblem belong on the hood? I thought Ingersoll came later. Does the cab belong on this model and is this a 1973 220? (Is the plate correct)

Attachments

· Registered
1,130 Posts
The emblem on the hood looks incorrect to me, (but I don't own a 220). From the serial number it would appear to be a 1974 model 220. The tractor would appear to match the serial #.

Others will be along with more knowledge but that's my 2 cents.

Welcome to the forum! It looks like you have a good snow removal machine.

· Registered
659 Posts
I'm not an expert on cabs, but I think that is the correct style for that year.

The Ingersoll "I" emblem on the hood is definitely not correct for your tractor. Neither is the plastic trim piece surrounding the headlights ... that was something Ingersoll added starting with the 3000/4000 series in 1989.

I don't think the tractors in that year range originally had any sort of emblem on the front of the hood. Somewhere along the way (later 70's, early 80's ?), they did add a stick-on rectangular plastic "CASE" emblem between the headlights. Then around 1987 or so it was changed to the Ingersoll "I" emblem (which was stuck directly to the hood prior to the addition of the plastic headlight trim panel in 89).

· Registered
1,786 Posts
Yeh Ray,

It appears as though the "I" emblem and the plastic trim piece are as correct for later Ingersoll tractors, not the CASE tractors.