Case Colt Ingersoll Tractors banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been thinking of upgrading my 195. Dont know if I want the expence of an onan, but I have a lot of experience with kohlers. I like the 2 tone paint. Anything to watch out for in a 444? What are your thoughts? Would be used on a tiller, mower, and caster.

·
Banned
12,618 Posts
When looking for a 444 Sunset work tractor, then you should try for one that was made in 1973, 1974, 1975 or 1976.

WHY?

First of all, they all have the Snap Fast attachment system and that gives you access to every H, J, K, L, M and N Series 44 and 48 inch mower deck as well as the rear discharge 44". You can also use the H thru S Series snowcasters along with the H, J, K , L and UB-54 utility blades. In other words, you have a glut of compatible attachments available.

The Kohler K's used in these years are mounted on rubber isolators and that allowed the discontinuance of the balance gears inside the engine which are known to break apart, drop into the pan, collide with the rod and destroy the engine. Prior to 73, the Kohlers were hard-mounted to the frame, as in your 195.

The 73 to early 76 models all have the reservoir up front and the muffler outside. This gives you a bigger reservoir and it isn't in your way when you need to get at the dashboard.